I love you, Stupid.

Can I just start off by saying that I did a good deed today? (Yayyyy!)

It started pouring on the way to the driving centre and when I alighted at the bus stop outside the centre, a girl was trapped there with no umbrella. I asked if she needed a ‘lift’ from my lil’ red brolly and we pretty much swam into school together.

I had just enough time to check the car allocated to me for the day, and find out that……. my phone was swimming in the rain as well.

My water-resistant backpack had somehow managed to resist the rain off every bit of the darn bag except for the compartment I’d put my phone in.

Let me answer that sacred question for you before you even ask it.

No. It’s not an iPhone. It’s not even a Smart Phone. In fact, it’s Stupid, and I loveeee it.

Don’t get me wrong. I think Smart Phones are great. They are smart. And how I’d love to know when the next bus is coming (Yes , Fi, I’m with you.). But my heart will always be with Stupid Phones.

For one, I can text while I’m running on the treadmill. (For trained professionals only. Do not attempt.)

I don’t have to stop while walking to compose a long exciting message. (And be a hazard to or obstruct other people who might be in a hurry. *Hinthinthint*)

Heck, I don’t even have to look at the screen when I’m texting.

I love that it isn’t cumbersome and overladen with functions that don’t actually… function. For me at least. (Scroll through the crazy long list to find someone I need to call urgently? No thanks.)

I love that it is simple and does what I need it to do – make calls.

I love that it makes me keep an actual written organiser – which also means that even now, when phone is drifting on the technological River Styx (so to speak), I still know when all my classes and appointments are.

Which reminds me, I’m supposed to rush off to meet the cousins now.

Dear Stupid…

I have left you in Intensive Care (aka between my mio and SCV set up boxes to dry in gentle heat). Be strong. Please pull through for you… for me… for both of us.

xx

What say you?

