Heavy Metal

Look who’s got a new toy!

After toying with the idea of getting a pasta machine for months and months (Damn you Junior Masterchef Australia!), we finally came home with this big boy yesterday. For ages I told myself, “Pfft, I can make this work with a rolling pin! Fancy machines, I scoff at you! If Italian Nonnas in secluded villages can make pasta without a machine, so can I!”

Yes. Delusions of grandeur plus laziness doth not a pasta maker maketh.

Anyway, Titania (Where’s Oberon? Hurhurhur.) is no damsel in distress.

She is one metal lovin’ lady. I might just incorporate her into my workouts just to get my money’s worth.

So of course, dinner tonight was pasta.

Not contented with having freshly made pasta, I traded the water needed in the pasta recipe for tomato paste so we can have some orange-coloured pasta.

I doubled the quantity so we could have fettucini tonight, and I could stuff me some pumpkin ravioli for The Guinea Pig.

Most of the steps were simple. So simple I could cry.

Orange Pasta

  • 1 egg
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 125 g all-purpose flour
  •  40 ml tomato puree/pasta sauce (Note that as tomato puree is not as ‘liquid’ as water, you might need a bit more than this.)
  1. Combine  the flour and salt and make a well in the flour.
  2. Crack the egg and pour half the tomato puree into the well you’ve created. Mix using a fork to beat the egg while bringing in the flour around the sides of the well.  The mixture should form a stiff dough. Adjust by adding more puree if you need to.
  3. On a lightly floured surface, knead dough for about 3 to 4 minutes. Let the dough rest for about 20 minutes.
  4. Divide the dough into workable portions, then roll out and cute with a pasta machine.

At this point, I covered the dough with a damp cloth to prevent it from drying out and let it rest, and started working on the pumpkin filling.

Now. I checked out this Butternut Squash Ravioli recipe, but ended up seasoning it completely differently because I was going for a sweeter flavour. (Can’t tell you my exact measurements, but for double the portion, I included the shallots, skipped the cheese, replaced nutmeg with cinnamon and put in a tablespoon of palm sugar.) Perhaps one day I’ll follow that one.

The pumpkin filling was simple enough too. I just had to keep tasting it because I was trying (so hard) to replicate the super yummy ones from Huber’s.

What was difficult, surprisingly, was rolling out the dough!

My (over) enthusiastic project mate would rather watch a Youtube instructional video than read the instructions on paper. Hmm. Then the pasta was cranked out too quickly, resulting in some caterpillar-ish squiggly bits. Even then, we pressed on.

May I present to you… Our pasta hanging contraption?

Almost see-through!

The fettucini done, I started on my ravioli – which was so tiring, ironically, because I tried to use this fancy ravioli cutter.

Wayyy easier with a knife.

Tada! Ravioli, done!

And just for good measure, here’s dinner:

I’d have to say, the pasta was really soft yet had a nice chew to it. I even had a bit of the raw dough (HEH) and it was gooood.

Updates on the pumpkin ravioli later on!

xx

2 thoughts on “Heavy Metal

  1. Pingback: The Savior – Molten Lava Cake | Stealing Time

  2. Pingback: Three Month Mark | Stealing Time

What say you?

