Cha-cha-charsiew.

People who follow this blog (HELLO BOYS AND GIRLS OF IMPECCABLE TASTE!) have probably realised that I write a lot on food. On meat food, to be exact.

To be absolutely honest, that wasn’t what I’d envisioned when I first started this blog. Because in my head, I’d be blogging about fake eyelashes, quirky clothes and insane shoes. While I do that once in a while when I stumble upon something deliriously beautiful (usually beyond my current budget), I came to realise that I’m just not that comfortable putting up pictures of myself in my clothes. That B is a sh*t photographer who thinks otherwise does not help at all. Also, not furiously searching for beautiful things to blog about also means I can’t obsess over what I cannot afford – one of my many talents.

So. No more letting shopping gnaw at my subconscious. Let’s get right down to business.

I really can’t remember where I got this recipe from, but I think it’s from a website Fel linked me up with eons ago. The website has since disappeared. Fortunately, I’ve committed the steps to memory. Not that it’s difficult. You’ll see.

I start off by marinating a slab of pork belly (skin removed) using Char Siew Sauce in a plastic bag for a day. Many people (Momo et the great butchers at Huber’s) have told me to use pork neck, but I’m sticking to belly. You may want to give it a try if you find the fatty belly too daunting. As for the sauce – both Woh Hup and Lee Kum Kee stock them, and I believe they are similar. Next question – how much sauce to use? Like I’ve said, I’ve done this so many times I don’t measure anything anymore, but generally, I’d put enough to coat the whole piece of meat generously.

Very easy to take care of this mess.

Peekaboo! I see you!

One day of marination later, take the meat out about 30 minutes before cooking so it gets closer to room temperature before cooking.

Preheat the over to 180˚C. In the meantime, brown the belly on all sides in a pan heated over medium high heat, starting with the fat side.

When the meat is suitably browned (don’t fret if it gets black on some parts – that’s the nature of the sweet charsiew sauce), pop it into the oven for 40 minutes.

40 minutes of cooking and another 15 minutes of rest later…

Why pay $3 million for a recipe when you can have Charsiew Perfection in a bottle?

Tips:

#1: I love the pork belly from Meidi-ya the best. They are usually sold in as a pair – and in true Japanese style; uniformed, identical slices.

#2: I have it with  this chili sauce from Sheng Siong.

And finally… Yes… I do eat a lot of vegetables.

What say you?

