Dream Country, Day 1: Mosquito Feed

I wrote about my involvement in the Singapore Arts Festival some time back and finally (FINALLY!), Day 1 of rehearsals has arrived.

Advance apologies to those who are hoping to see some pictures of the actual rehearsal – we were pretty much submerged in water/hurling gunnysacks at one another the whole time, so I can’t take any for now. But yes. Proper pictures will arrive soon enough.

You will, however, get to meet two new friends I made on day one.

This lil’ fella was the first to greet me at the gates of Goodman.

Lovely creature leapt over a canal to come over to me. Gorgeous.

I also met the coolest old gentleman who was fishing by the canal.

His bright blue cart caught my attention long before I arrived at the bridge. And I couldn’t help but ask to take a picture of him and his cart. He was a little shy, but he obliged anyway. Check out that smile on his face too.

His eyes had a coat of greyish white glaze over them and what remained of his teeth were mostly black and rotten, but I found him to be bursting with character. J’adore.

When I told him I loved his cart, he generously offered to let me take a look at his fish which he said were “even nicer” than the cart.

These babies can be eaten! (?!) Amazing.

I have a feeling I’ll be seeing a lot more of him, and I am certainly looking forward to it. For starters, I’ve really got to get his name.

Off to the rehearsal venue we go.

Our plot. I claimed the beautiful one with the rings second to the right that day. =D

Yes, Charlene. Roll your eyes.

Pretty, itchy sacks.

Kettles for the hot water that we didn’t use thanks to the burning sun.

So how was Rehearsal 1?

It was fun. But the fun factor also meant that it got harder to stay focussed on our own stories.

I worried. A lot.

I worried about not being as good. I worried about over thinking. I worried I was doing it all wrong. I worried that my bum was falling out of my costume. (Wore my Ribs Swimsuit. Forgot extra shorts. Bummer, indeed.)

I worried.

There were a few moments when the action got rather ‘la-la’ – it was, after all, our first improv. Even then, it frustrated and disorientated me. (I’m a perfectionist/worry-wart. Does it show?)

I’m still have lapses of consciousness and over-thinking. Fortunately, a lot less than I’d expected.

Throughout our improvisations, there were certain rhythms I gravitated towards more, and I am thankful for that.

During our quiet reflection time, I became very aware of the core of my very being for some reason and it was so confrontational that I felt extremely disconcerted. Still, I have to manage all that lest I ask myself questions to the point of insecurity.

What can I say? I am my own worst enemy.

No wait. Strike that. Because my nemesis really, were the mosquitoes.

By the end of the session I was all bumpy with bites – not a pretty sight. I’m hoping to give myself multiple coats of repellent over the weekend to combat those monsters. Wish me luck.

And yes…

Brief stalking attempt outside The Observatory’s studio.

Note to self: Must suppress fangirl/groupie split personality.

One thought on “Dream Country, Day 1: Mosquito Feed

  1. Pingback: Here we go again! | Stealing Time

What say you?

